California’s Carbon Monoxide Detector Law
Law Effective July 1, 2011
The California Legislature enacted into law Senate Bill 183, which aims to reduce the amount of deaths from carbon monoxide poisoning. Beginning on Friday, July 1, 2011 all single-family homes in California will be required to have carbon monoxide detectors installed.
Anyone obtaining a Building Permit for $1000.00 or more of interior renovations will be required to have a Carbon Monoxide Detector installed in each hallway leading to sleeping rooms. You can find a Carbon Monoxide Detector for approximately $30-$45 at your local Home Improvement Store.
For more information contact the City of Placentia Building Division at (714)993-8127.