The Placentia Police Department Records Bureau hours are Monday – Friday from 8:00 am – 6:00 pm and Saturdays from 8:00 am – 2:00 pm. The Records Bureau is comprised of one Records Supervisor, three Records Specialists, and five Records Cadets. The Records Cadets handle front counter contacts, answer phones, do citation sign-offs, take reports, and assist other personnel with tasks or projects. The Records Specialists are responsible for submitting police reports with arrests to the District Attorney's office for prosecution, making error-free entries for the DOJ, such as missing persons and stolen vehicles, and overseeing the Records Cadets. The Records Bureau is also responsible for releasing reports and determining what can be released, what cannot, and what needs to be redacted.
You may request a copy of a report by telephone at (714) 993-8164 ext. 2, email: email@example.com, fax at (714) 996-2719, or in person at our front counter. Per Cal. Gov. Code 7922.535, we have ten days to respond to your request and 14 additional days to produce the report. If you are on a deadline or need something immediately, please let us know, and we will do what we can to accommodate your needs. The fee for reports is $0.50 per page. CPRA (California Public Record Act Requests) can be made through our City Clerk's office, or you may fill out your request by clicking here. Please remember that the CPRA generally exempts most law enforcement records from disclosure under California Government Code 7923.600. The City Clerk's office is open Monday – Thursday, 7:30 am – 6:00 pm.
Vehicle releases can be obtained at the front counter during normal business hours Monday - Friday 8:00a.m.- 6:00p.m. and Saturday 8:00a.m. - 2:00p.m. The Placentia Police Department release fee is $199 for non 30 day impounds or other vehicle storage and $296 for all 30 day impounds and DUI impounds. In order to pick up your vehicle, you must have current registration and a valid driver's license or someone with you with a valid driver's license.
You may submit a subpoena for records that are subject to be redacted. The initial fee is $15, which includes the first hour of research, and $30 per hour will be charged for each additional hour. If incurred, the additional fees will need to be paid before the record's release. Subpoenas are only accepted by our Court Liaison at North Justice Center, 1275 N. Berkeley Avenue in Fullerton, CA 92832.
Body Worn Camera:
BWC is generally not public records, and most police reports are exempt from requests per California Government Code 7923.600. If you want BWC footage, it may be done by subpoena only. The initial fee is $15, which includes the first hour of research, and $30 per hour will be charged for each additional hour and a $10 media fee. The length of time will depend on the individual event. Subpoenas are only accepted by our Court Liaison at North Justice Center, 1175 Berkeley Avenue in the City of Fullerton.
The Records Bureau offers Livescan services Monday – Friday between 9:00 am and 4:00 pm. Livescan services are currently by appointment only and can be made over the phone or at the front counter. The person requesting the Livescan must bring in the following: 1. their completed Livescan form and 2. a Government-issued Driver's License/Identification Card. The only payment accepted is debit/credit card, apple, or google pay. The fees range from $30 to $100 depending on the type of clearance the requesting agency needs.
The Records Bureau handles the registration process for any sex offender that currently resides or is a transient in the City of Placentia. This service is offered Tuesday – Thursday between 10:00 am and 2:00 pm. Remember that if you are required to register, you will need to make an appointment five days before or after your birthday for an annual registration; and every 30 days if you are a transient. If you are moving out of Placentia's jurisdiction, you must de-register with Placentia before registering with the new city you are moving into. If you are moving into Placentia from another jurisdiction, you must de-register with that agency before registering with the City of Placentia. For all annual registrations requiring livescans, you will be patted down by sworn personnel before entering the jail for the live scanning process. Your appointment will be subject to rescheduling depending on if someone is arrested around your reserved time; this is because our Livescan machine is located in our jail. Please keep in mind this process may take between 40 minutes and 2 hours.
The Records Bureau handles citation sign-offs Monday – Friday from 8:00 am to dusk. These sign-offs are free to Placentia residents and $16 for non-Placentia residents. We do not sign off on proof of insurance or exhaust-related citations.
Parking Permits can be purchased at the front counter of the Placentia Police Department. You will need a copy of your registration or the license plate/VIN number, driver's license, and the application filled out. The cost is $12 per permit; each residence is allowed five permanent permits and five guest permits. You may also get 24-hour permits for special events at $2 each with no limitation on quantity; similarly, you can request no citations for your event with Records or Dispatch. Permits will only be sold to residents that reside on permitted streets; this excludes apartments. The city no longer offers Old Town Santa Fe District annual permits.
An activity permit will be required for large gatherings that may require the closing of street(s) or parking problems. You may pick one up at the front counter, or you may click here, fill it out, and bring it to the front counter for approval.
Garage sales may only be conducted on the first full weekend (Saturday and/or Sunday) of March, June, September, and December. Garage sales may be conducted on days other than those specified above upon obtaining a permit. You may download and fill out your application here and submit it at the front counter, or you may fill it out online by clicking here and submit at least 72 hours prior to the garage sale. Once you click submit, it automatically goes to code enforcement for approval. All garage sale activity shall be conducted between 8:00 am and 5:00 pm.
For service schedules and holidays, you may use our interactive map on our city website here. For any questions regarding tickets, please contact our Traffic Division at (714) 993-8164 ext. 3, or your may contest your ticket online at www.pticket.com.