Planning Commission


The Planning Commission consists of seven (7) members (per City Charter) appointed by the City Council. The term of office is for four (4) years.


Regular meetings of the Planning Commission are held at 6:30 p.m. on the second Tuesday of each month in the City Council Chambers.

For more information regarding the Planning Commission, please contact the Development Services Department at (714) 993-8124.

Powers and Duties

  • After a public hearing thereon, recommends to the City Council the adoption, amendment, or repeal of the General Plan, or any part thereof, for the physical development of the City.
  • Exercises such control over land subdivisions as is granted to it by the City Council and by the laws of the State of California.
  • Makes recommendations concerning proposed public works and for the clearance and rebuilding of blighted or substandard areas within the City.
  • Exercises such functions with respect to zoning as may be prescribed by ordinance not inconsistent with the City Charter.

Staff Liaison

Director of Development Services and/or designated staff member(s).